spinning my wheels

2008 02 11_0004

I have adjusted my woolee winder to wind the bobbin more evenly by rotating the moving eye a bit. Looks better, doesn’t it? Used to look like this:
2008 01 29_0005

Can’t wait to give this next stuff a spin on my wheel:
2008 02 11_0002

My first go at handpainting roving! Or dyeing fiber of any kind, for that matter. This is Lanaset/Sabraset colors at far too high a depth of shade. Next time I’ll go a little easier. Now for the closeup:
2008 02 11_0003
I spent most of Sunday at this, and had great fun. I spent most of Monday recovering, as I was having far too much fun to notice that I was demonstrating very poor ergonomic behavior for someone with a spine in the shape mine is in. But ooh, pretty!

2 thoughts on “spinning my wheels

  1. I think your hand-dyed roving turned out wonderfully! I’ve been dyeing my own fiber for years now. Just can’t seem to get enough. My youngest and I spend our summers outside hand-painting rovings. She loves doing the hand-painting…..we get to spend quality time together….and I end up with some very pretty roving to spin over winter. I hope you keep up with the dyeing. It’s so addictive and fun!!

Leave a Reply

