blue is the color of . . . .

Veronica. A lovely ground cover that grows beside my mailbox, and for a week or two in early spring, is glorious.
veronica

So for the rest of the year, the chorus of the Elvis Costello song by the same name is so appropriate:

Do you suppose, that waiting hands on eyes
Veronica has gone to hide
And all the time she laughs at those who shout
Her name and steal her clothes.

This time of year, Veronica cheers me up every time I check the mailbox. I stole her clothes myself, recently, dyeing yarn for a colorway I’ve been thinking of as “driftwood”. You are looking at a gauge swatch of the same, a la Cat Bordhi from New Pathways.
gauge swatch

My first go at Judy’s Magical Cast On, and just as Cat claims, it IS truly magical. In the picture below, I’ve flattened the bottom of the swatch, so the cast on stitches are clearly visible. Only not clearly identifiable. Can you tell where they are? Nor can I. Judy Becker is a wizard.
truly magical

Same magic on the non-public side. Can’t find it at all. Made me brave enough to cast on my first pair toe-up, and both at the same time as well. So here’s two little sock toes, just begun. So far so good! I like how the yarn is knitting up.

rushing rivulet wip1

One thought on “blue is the color of . . . .

Leave a Reply

