the newest bud on the extended family tree

The parents of the bud expect it shall be a baby girl in March or so.  And so, I knit.

1st, an ashlar cap, pattern and yarn found in Miss Babs booth at SAFF this past autumn.

This was a fun knit, and quick too.  I misunderstood the directions and totally messed up the braid trim, but I know what I did wrong, so I’ll get it right next time.  I think it looks ok anyway.  I added the corkscrew embellishment on top.  Just the right touch of whimsy.

Hot off the needles, a bsj in the same yummy Miss Babs yarn.

I love the way this one came out.  It’s been a few years since I knit one, and I remembered it fairly well.  When I found the perfect buttons, they came only in this size, which would have been slightly too small.

A little buttonhole stitch around the buttonhole . . .

buttonhole stitch

And a sewn shank for the button . . .

button with sewed shank

The buttons are perfect after all.

I like the way paired lifted increases look here too.

paired lifted increases lower front

I like this little jacket so much, I kinda hate to send it away.  I suppose it deserves a baby, and this one is guaranteed to be a real cutie.  Maybe I’ll make an adult surprise jacket in yummy yarn for me.

4 thoughts on “the newest bud on the extended family tree

Leave a Reply

